Originally Posted October 5th, 2017

We’re looking forward to hosting our second ELEAGUE Major in back-to-back years and bringing a CS:GO championship to Boston for the first time.

— Craig Barry, Chief Content Officer, Turner Sports

ELEAGUE, the esports tournament and content brand from Turner and IMG, will hold its second Major Championship in two years featuring Valve’s popular Counter-Strike: Global Offensive. The ELEAGUE Major: Boston will exhibit and broadcast live competition from Agganis Arena. The Quarterfinals, Semifinals and Championship will take place on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, January 26-28. Early round competition will take place at ELEAGUE Arena at Turner Studios in Atlanta. Coverage of the Boston competition will be presented live on Twitch, ELEAGUE.com and YouTube.

Sixteen CS:GO teams will compete for the title of The ELEAGUE Major: Boston Champion and a share of the event’s $1 million prize pool. The top eight finishers from the previous Major – PGL Major Champion Gambit Esports, previous ELEAGUE Major Champion Astralis, Immortals, Virtus.pro, FNATIC, SK Gaming, BIG and Team North – will be invited as Legend teams. The bottom eight finishers from the prior Major will compete for eight Challenger berths via the ELEAGUE Major Qualifier.

Minor Championships will determine the eight teams – two each from the Americas, Asia, Europe and CIS regions – that will also participate in the ELEAGUE Major Qualifier.  They will face the aforementioned bottom eight teams from the previous Major. The Minors will begin with the Asia and CIS tournaments, held Thursday-Sunday, Oct. 26-29, in Seoul, South Korea and Bucharest, Romania. Minors action will continue with Europe and Americas events, Thursday-Sunday, Nov. 2-5, in Bucharest and Toronto.

Learn more at ELEAGUE.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here